You might as well die laughing!
Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On Facebook

Philly Baseball Insider

Philadelphia baseball from the majors to the minors.

Halladay Elected to HOF on First Ballot

Roy Halladay
Roy Halladay poses for a photo during Spring Training Media Photo Day at Bright House Networks Field on February 24, 2010 in Clearwater, Florida. (Photo by Nick Laham/Getty Images)

Former Phillies pitcher Roy Halladay was named on 85-percent of the Hall of Fame ballots this year, putting him into the Hall on the first ballot that he appeared on. He’ll enter along with Mariano Rivera, Mike Mussina and Edgar Martinez. Martinez enters not only as a first ballot Hall of Fame selection but became the first player to ever be voted in unanimously.

Halladay, who was killed 14 months ago in a plane crash off the coast of Florida, pitched four seasons with the Phillies after spending the bulk of his career with the Toronto Blue Jays. Toronto had selected Halladay with the 17th overall pick in the 1995 Draft and he made his major league debut in September of 1998. The Phillies acquired him prior to the 2010 season for Travis d’Arnaud, Kyle Drabek and Michael Taylor. He retired following the 2013 season.

Halladay threw just the second perfect game in Phillies history in 2010 in just his 11th start with the team. Following the season, he threw a no-hitter in the playoffs against the Cincinnati Reds. In his first season in Philadelphia he made 33 starts and led the majors with 250 2/3 innings, nine complete games and four shutouts while posting a 21-10 record and a 2.44 ERA to win the Cy Young Award. Earlier, Halladay had won an American League Cy Young Award when he went 22-7, 3.25 in 36 starts for Toronto. he threw a career-high 266 innings that included nine complete games and two shutouts.

From 2008 through 2011, Halladay threw an astounding 35 complete games and was 77-37 with a 2.59 ERA with Toronto and Philadelphia. Over that four span of games he threw 969 1/3 innings in 130 starts.

Other Phillies receiving votes and the percentage of ballots they were named on, were: Roy Oswalt (0.9), Scott Rolen (17.2), Curt Schilling (60.9), Billy Wagner (16.7) and Michael Young (2.1). To be elected to the Hall of Fame, a player must be named on 75-percent of the ballots in a given year.

RELATED: Sabremetrics put Scott Rolen in the Hall of Fame.

This year’s Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held on July 21st in Cooperstown, New York.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *