You might as well die laughing!
Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On Facebook

Philly Baseball Insider

Philadelphia baseball from the majors to the minors.

Grullon, Davis get IL all-star nods

Deivy Grullon (Photo by Cheryl Pursell)
Deivy Grullon was voted by fans to start the IL All-Star Game which will be played in El Paso, Texas on July 10. (Photo by Cheryl Pursell)

The 2019 International League All-Star Team was officially announced Thursday, and the Lehigh Valley IronPigs had two representatives selected: catcher Deivy Grullon and LHP Austin Davis.  Grullon was elected as the starting catcher.  

Grullon, 23, has put together a banner first-season with Lehigh Valley.  In 64 games played with the IronPigs this season, Grullon is batting .307 with 14 doubles, 10 home runs, 44 runs batted in and 32 runs scored to go along with 24 walks.  He’s currently 10th in the International League in batting average and has a fielding percentage of .992 while committing just four errors.  

Davis, 26, has appeared in 20 games for the IronPigs this season.  He’s recorded 38 strikeouts in 30 2/3 innings while allowing just nine runs off 23 hits and 15 walks.  Opposing batters are hitting just .207 against Davis.  The Scottsdale, Arizona native has the longest scoreless inning streak of any IronPig pitcher this season at 13 2/3 innings.  The left-hander has also made six appearances with the Philadelphia Phillies this season. 

Austin DavisLast season, the Pacific Coast League earned a 12-7 victory in Columbus, Ohio to give the PCL stars a two-game winning streak. Still, the IL owns a 12-9 advantage in the 20 years since the event changed to the current IL vs. PCL format. The winning League this season will once again earn the right to have its champion play as the “home team” at the Triple-A National Championship Game which will take place Tuesday, Sept. 17, in Memphis, Tennessee at AutoZone Park.

This year’s Triple-A All-Star Game will be played on July 10 at Southwest University Park in El Paso, Texas.  The classic will be broadcast live on MiLB.TV, the Triple-A All-Star Game Radio Network and on MLB Network. 

The North Division leading Scranton/Wilkes-Barre RailRiders and the West Division leading Columbus Clippers lead the way with four All-Stars apiece. SWB boasts the most elected All-Stars with three, in first baseman Mike Ford, designated hitter Ryan McBroom, and reliever J.P. Feyereisen, to be joined by selected catcher Kyle Hiashioka. Columbus has two elected players, starting pitcher Asher Wojciechowski and outfielder Brandon Barnes, who will be joined by selected catcher Eric Haase and reliever Josh Smith. Barnes and Haase are each making a return appearance to the Triple-A AllStar Game.

The only other team with multiple elected All-Stars is the South Division leading Durham Bulls, who in addition to elected shortstop Jake Cronenworth and third baseman Kean Wong will also be represented by hurler Arturo Reyes. Wong was the IL’s Top Star at the 2018 event. They will be joined in the infield by Louisville’s Josh VanMeter, the elected second baseman.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *